Is She Done Riding The Cock Carousel?

Back in my younger days, just out of high school I was a model beta/white knighter. Having been raised by a single mother I was indoctrinated with the mindset of being kind, chivalrous and to just lay down for a woman and cater to her every need. Well, a friend of mine met this girl and they started dating. Of course through association I also was able to spend significant time with her. My friend was not a white knighter. He was classic bad boy and boy did this girl go for that hard. She wanted to fix him, help him, etc. etc. Of course I came riding in hard on my white knight horse and became her emotional tampon. After a few weeks I tried to transition our relationship and got shut down with LJBF….

Fast forward to today. I hadn’t been in touch with this girl for many years (over a decade). Out of the blue I get a Linkedin invite asking “are you the Vincent from….” So I responded.  Shortly afterwards I got the following email. Perhaps I am reading too much into it, but I’m thinking girl got done riding the cock carousel and is now looking for her beta to settle down with. I’ve highlighted some of the pieces that led me to this belief.

“Well, Good morning and Happy Friday to you , RPGG.    I am so happy that you responded to me, as I was a bit nervous you wouldn’t remember me. 

It is amazing how, as we get older, we reflect on times past and those that have made an impact on our lives resurface.  You were one of those people for meI have never forgotten you and you were always so positive and inspirational.

Happenings over the last 18 or so years.  Nothing too crazy.  I have two grown girls.  Ashley, who you met as an infant, just started her freshman year in college.  Kali is 17 and starting her senior year.  They are beautiful young women that are finally coming into their own in this world.  Don’t get me wrong, they are attempting to do all the stupid and reckless things we did at their age.  Luckily I know the drill and have been somewhat successful in thwarting some of their attempts.

 Me . . . divorced for many many years  (sidebar…emphasis on many, many?) but very happy.  Still living in MN.  Actually only about 4 blocks from mom and dad, who are also doing very well!  I have been a single mom all these years but wouldn’t have it any other way.  I finished school and am working in sales and love it!   Life is good. I am still an eternal optimist but it sure is much for fun seeing the glass half full.

What’s new with you?   Also, feel free to call me any time at the numbers below

Following this shortly afterwards was another email from her

Good morning, sunshine!

I am very thankful reconnecting with you.  I do look forward to a visit to Arizona at some point in 2013.  In fact, I will promise you I will make a visit!

Thoughts… am I reading too much into this or does it seem she’s done riding the carousel and hoping that I was the same beta/white knight from back in the day?

Leave a Reply

