Lesson In What Women Want From Claire Underwood

Apologies in advance for the poor copy – this is the only one I could find online.

In episode 6 of “House of Cards” Claire Underwood, played by Robin Wright made such an insightful speech to Frank’s previous security guard, Steve, after proclaiming his adoration/love for her. As Steve was expressing himself he made what I see as a beta type comment:  “What I wouldn’t give…“

Claire responded:  “Do you know what Francis said when he proposed…’if all you want is happiness, say no. I’m not going to give you a couple of kids and count the days until retirement. I promise you freedom from that. I promise you will never be bored.’ He was the only one who understood me. He didn’t put me on some pedestal. He knew I didn’t want to be adored or coddled.  He took my hand and put a ring on it because he is a man who knows how to take what he wants.”

Of particular note…she said that he didn’t put her on some pedestal and coddle her and knew how to take what he wants.

Leave a Reply

